My First Fantasy Football Draft

27 Aug

You may have noticed I was missing in action yesterday. My absence was in part because of recovering from a night of drunk debauchery but also because I was preparing for my first ever Fantasy Football Draft. Like any good student I had waited till the last-minute to study. A guy friend, who has mastered fantasy gave me this advice:

1. Draft Philadelphia Eagles’ running back LeSean McCoy first. I was pick number 4, McCoy went as number 2 in our draft. So  I failed at that one.

2. Make sure to get the San Francisco 49ers as your Defense Strategy. It took me about half-way through the draft to figure out how to pick at team for defense strategy so I failed at one and evened up with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

3. Whatever you do don’t draft Dallas Cowboys’ quarterback Tony Romo. Okay this one I definitely didn’t do. I instead went with Philadelphia Eagles’ quarterback Michael Vick.

My grade so far would definitely be an C.

So you can follow along and understand I am putting my roster below and my thought process or lack of thought behind it. As note my league is through ESPN and we did a online snake draft(Which alternates you between two numbers each round, I had 4 and then 11, then 4 again than 11. You get the idea.)

Quarterbacks:

1. Michael Vick. I knew that in fantasy quarterbacks are important but not nearly as important as running backs. So instead of aiming for high-profile quarterback in the first round, I went for a running back instead. We will see if this strategy actually pays off.  I knew Vick was someone I could get in a later round and is very dependable. Vick is no Aaron Rogers(who is by far the most popular fantasy qb, he had 4,643 yards last year) but he did manage to get 3,303 yards last year.

2. Robert Griffin III. I took Griffin as my back-up because I didn’t get Andrew Luck. I figured as a back-up Griffin couldn’t be that bad. He has been getting better so I’m crossing my fingers.

Running Backs:

1. Chris Johnson. This is a gamble and my first pick. Johnson had a terrible last season with the Tennessee Titans. But despite that I am taking a shot and believing in him.

2. Ryan Mathews. This was another gamble that I made. Playing the San Diego Chargers Matthews injured his collarbone on his first carry in the first preseason game against the Green Bay Packers. They don’t expect him to be back until at least week 3 of the regular season. Regardless if he does recover he will be a good pick.

3. Kendall Hunter. This was so late in the draft more me and I was just desperate for more running backs.

4. Jahvid Best. Kind of regretting this now because they have no idea when he will actually play again. Playing for the Detroit Lions he suffered at head injury last year and has yet to return. This was another desperate later round pick for me.

5. Alfred Morris. Morris is a rookie with the Washington Redskins. If you remember this kid stole the spotlight in the game against the Indianapolis Colts. He is not currently a starter but could very well be soon if continues to excel.

Wide Receivers:

1. Dwayne Bowe. Bowe is a number 1 receiver despite not having the most stellar 2011 season with the Kansas City Chiefs. I’m happy with this one.

2. Reggie Wayne. Wayne who plays with the Indianapolis Colts proves last season that he is amazing regardless of the quarterback situation. He is a solid player and I’m happy with him.

3. Brandon LaFell. This pick is another gamble, not as bad as my injury gambles. LaFell had a good season last year with a lot of up and downs with the Carolina Panthers. A lot of people are predicting the will have a break-out season this year.

4. Michael Floyd. This was a later round pick, where I was just worried about having depth on my bench. Floyd has been a slow starter with the Arizona Cardinals but could take off later on in the season.

Tight Ends:

1. Vernon Davis. So Davis was ranked number 6 in Fantasy drafts. I really waited a while to pick-up a tight-end so I was happy to have a reasonable pick. Davis started to perform better last year towards the end of the season with the San Francisco 49ers.

2. Kyle Rudolph. This again was a later round pick, just as a back-up for Davis. He’s considered a sleeper so let’s hope he wakes up.

Kicker:

1. Nate Kaeding. Because I followed the advice of my friend I waited until the last round to draft a kicker. Kaeding was the only one that was left who as not injured so there you have it.

I am going to continue to post about my experience in Fantasy Football. We will see if my gambles paid off or if I just end up making all women look bad at fantasy sports.

-M

Leave a Reply

